Simplicity

The Amish have always fascintated me.  I love reading about them, thinking about them, and secretly dreaming of being one of them.  I think it’s the simplicity.

Now I totally understand that their life is not easy.  In fact, I’m not sure that I could EVER do without electricity.  My hair would for sure protest.  And I can barely keep the ONE house plant I have alive, let alone grow my own produce.  Oh, and not to mention the fact that I don’t even like to kill bugs – if I had to kill my burger it would be a hungry day at the Carroll house.

I think what is so attractive to me about their lifestyle is how focused they are.  They work, they fellowship, they worship.  And that’s about it.  They don’t have a thousand errands to run, they don’t drive children all over town for “activities”, they don’t email, blog, surf, they don’t have TV to catch up on or movies to see, they are focused.

I think about all of the things that I love:  chocolate, The Office, a good book, coffee,  a bath, naps, red wine, traveling to see friends and family —-  all luxuries not often afforded to the Amish.  I know that I would miss these things.  But sometimes I wonder if I’m letting these things choke out my focus for Jesus.

Thinking about this quote today…and maybe thinking of wearing a black dress with a white collar.  🙂

“The greatest adversary of love to God is not his enemies but his gifts. And the most deadly appetites are not for the poison of evil, but for the simple pleasures of earth. For when these replace an appetite for God himself, the idolatry is scarcely recognizable, and almost incurable.

Jesus said some people hear the word of God, and a desire for God is awakened in their hearts. But then, ‘as they go on their way they are choked with worries and riches and pleasures of this life’ (Luke 8:14). ‘The pleasures of this life’ are not evil in themselves. These are not the vices. These are gifts of God. They are your basic meat and potatoes and coffee and gardening and reading and decorating and traveling and investing and TV-watching and Internet-surfing and shopping and exercising and collecting and talking. And all of them can become deadly substitutes for God” (John Piper, A Hunger for God, p. 14-15).

Leave a Reply

