A Hot Stove

Yesterday was a fun day with the kids…in our house, Father’s Day means a day off (because Mother’s Day is the same way for me!)…so I had the kids most of the day.  After an afternoon in our backyard pool, Jac said he wanted mac and cheese for dinner.  (By the way, I made home made mac and cheese last week and he wouldn’t eat it because it wasn’t orange.)

So I let him help me cook.  I showed him what boiling water looked like, we stirred the pasta together and we kept talking about how hot the stove was and how you are never supposed to touch it.  When the pasta was done boiling, I told him to stay right where he was and I would take it to the sink to drain the water off.  As soon as my back was turned, I heard him yell and cry.  I turned back around to see him holding his pointer finger up and crying, “It’s hot!”.

I know I probably shouldn’t have, but I could only laugh.  That kid is just like me in so many ways.  How many times do we hear cautions from the Lord, from friends, and even from our own experience only to touch the stove as soon as we think no one is looking.

(By the way, no 3 year olds were harmed in the process, there wasn’t even a mark on his finger…he literally just wanted to see if I was telling the truth.)

What’s even funnier is that John came and asked what happened and when I told him, he picked Jac up and said, “I have a story for you.  One time, when daddy was 3, he touched a hot stove to see if it would burn him, too.”

The kid was wired to touch the stove.  I just hope he’s also wired to remember that the next time he thinks that might be a good idea.  And I hope I’m learning that, too.

2 thoughts on “A Hot Stove

  1. Ahh….just like the rest of us – had to learn the hard way. The great part to remember is that you loved him no less because he disobeyed and probably had more compassion for him than anything…hmmm. Don’t you wish he/we could listen the first time!

  2. This post was hilarious all around! Jac is ridiculous! I do have to say though, that my favorite part of the whole event was that you couldn’t help but just laugh.

    Far too many times, we feel the disciplining of Jesus: “Don’t do that, Don’t do that, Don’t do that. . .” And then. . .we do it! And I think that your reaction is a mirror image of the Father, sometimes he can’t help but just laugh at our curiosity/ignorance. . .I love it!

Leave a Reply

