Little by Little

The past few months I have been frustrated with God.  Mostly because although it seems as if some progress has been made, that for the most part, I’m still enslaved to a lot of my own sin.  I don’t know about you, but sometimes I feel like I’m still battling the same things that I was battling at 19, ten years ago.  It’s in those moments that I wonder why God doesn’t just snap his fingers and make it go away.  I don’t doubt that He is ABLE to do anything He pleases.  So I’ve been frustrated wondering why it doesn’t please Him to just REMOVE my strongholds entirely.  Quickly.  With one stroke of His hand.

A few weeks ago, a dear friend was in town and we took some time to pray together.  I was honest with her about my frustrations with the Lord and myself and she mentioned something she had just heard from a friend who was wrestling with the same questions.

He said that he had been reading through Exodus and when he came to chapter 23, the Lord was explaining to His people how He was going to hand over the Promised Land to them.  In verses 20-33 He’s telling them essentially that He promises to completely blot their enemies out.  To give them the Land.  To bless them and take away their diseases.  But something very interesting happens in verse 29 and 30.   He says “I will NOT drive them out from before you in ONE YEAR, lest the land become desolate and the wild beasts multiply against you.  Little by Little I will drive them out from before you, until you have increased and possessed the land.”

It was in this passage that I started to realize that although God could INDEED give total victory with one wave of His hand, that He might actually have PURPOSE in the waiting.  Purpose in the journey.  Knowing that if He handed over total victory that the land would be overcome and uninhabitable.

The new Amy Grant album came out yesterday (you like how I worked that in?).  On the album there is a song called “Overnight” – I listened to it for the first time this morning and was able to rest knowing that God is at work in my life, even it it doesn’t happen overnight.

6 thoughts on “Little by Little

  1. I so appreciate your honesty and am thankful you shared. It’s SUCH a great reminder. It is so good to look at the Exodus passage and worship God for both His power and His purpose. Thanks! Great song.

  2. You drew me in so well. I was right there with you, nodding, sighing, having a moment. And then you hit me with Amy Grant and I laughed out loud, in the middle of a class. yea, i’m reading your blog in class. Excited to listen to Amy’s take on the matter tonight, listening to your blog in class is frowned upon 🙂
    love you, thankful i get to walk with you lady

  3. really appreciate your thoughts, and totally agree with your friend’s take! Sooo true. Couldn’t bring myself to listen to Amy though. Sorry. Little by little.

  4. Oh man, did I ever need to hear/read this today. Struggling with discouragement and doubt, and I know God is telling me if He were to supply everything I need right this moment then what would be the point of Faith?
    It was great to meet you briefly last night.
    Shoot me an email sometime if you still need a piano teacher. God bless you!

Leave a Reply

