More Like Falling in Love…

Contrary to what some might believe (Allison), I occasionally listen to KLove.  A few days ago I caught this song while driving – LOVE THIS.

Here are the lyrics….

Give me rules
I will break them
Give me lines
I will cross them
I need more than a truth to believe
I need a truth that lives, moves, and breathes
To sweep me off my feet
It ought to be

More like falling in love
Than something to believe in
More like losing my heart
Than giving my allegiance

Caught up, called out
Come take a look at me now
It’s like I’m falling, oh
It’s like I’m falling in love

Give me words
I’ll misuse them
Obligations
I’ll misplace them
‘Cause all religion ever made of me
Was just a sinner with a stone tied to my feet
It never set me free

It’s gotta be

CHORUS

…It’s like I’m falling in love, love, love
Deeper and deeper
It was love that made
Me a believer
In more than a name, a faith, a creed
Falling in love with Jesus brought the change in me

I don’t know about you, but I’ve never heard someone say they came to Jesus because his rules looked more morally upright than the others.  Or that his high standards made them want to be better.  I come to Jesus BECAUSE I’m broken.  Because without His mercy my own brilliance would take over and ruin me.  Because He is better than.  Better than my own wisdom, better than my desires, better than my pride and self-reliance.  It’s not His rules that set us free…it’s His kindness that leads to repentance.  Let’s not forget that as we present our Jesus to those around us.  Is He the great rule keeper?  Or is He the kindest person you’ve ever met.  The one who forgives 70 times 7.  Someone able to steal our affections.  That’s the Christ that breaks through our own striving to do good and BECOMES good for us.  That sounds much better to me.

3 thoughts on “More Like Falling in Love…

Leave a Reply

