Why We’ve Decided to Homeschool Next Year…

So we have a big, maybe surprising announcment………………..no we’re not adopting Emily.
We’re homeschooling next year.
(Holy crap it’s out there. I don’t think I can go back on this now.)
I’ve had a few conversations here and there so I know this isn’t a surprise for everyone, but I wanted to take a few minutes and try to explain how we got here.
 Screen Shot 2015-05-18 at 9.21.51 AM

The following are NOT reasons we are homeschooling…

  • Because I like denim jumpers
  • Because I want to
  • Because I don’t like the kids’ teachers
  • Because I miss my kids too much all day
  • Because religion

Reasons why we are…

  • Because we need a break.  A break from homework and the crazy testing and rush rush rush and the early mornings and the PTA and the fundraisers and the “projects” that end up being an assignment for me or Emily.
  • Because the kids need to learn some actual real life things like CLEANING THEIR FREAKING ROOM which we currently try to squeeze between the homework hour and the hurry-up-and-find-your-cleats hour. In all seriousness, I KNOW they are capable of way more than “Mom, can you pop this bag of popcorn for me?” I taught Charis to scramble eggs last week and she actually GOT UP AND MADE HERSELF BREAKFAST and didn’t burn the house down! I hope to transfer these skills to a complete breakfast-in-bed scenario for me in the very near future.
  • Because my kids need more time outside than the current 0-15 minute allotment given to them in school. I know they have a lot to fit into a school day, but even on days when recess isn’t taken from them for some sort of consequence (my LEAST favorite way to punish a student by the way), they are barely outside long enough to adjust their eyes before it’s time to go back inside. I’ve got a couple of wiggle worms that I can see dying slow chair-shaped deaths.
  • Because anything they could ever want to know about the world they can know in the time it takes to type in a google search. I really believe kids are natural learners and I can’t wait for them to have actual free time to explore their unique interests and curiosities.
  • Because we like to go. The Carrolls are ALWAYS up for a trip – whether it’s to Shelby Farms or Washington, D.C., there is a world out there only a tank of gas away that I want to explore with my kids before they realize I’m not cool enough to travel with.
In saying all of this, I’m only saying this is our plan for NEXT YEAR. Ok, who are we kidding – our plan for AUGUST. My kids might be back in school the first week of September if I lose my mind – which is a highly likely scenario.
There are some AWESOME school options in Memphis and we are excited about exploring those for each kiddo after this year is over. Jac will be moving onto middle school (WHAT) and the other kiddos might be back at Downtown. Who knows.
Things we will miss…
  • Relationships. Obviously with their friends, but also with their teachers and staff members who genuinely have my kids best interest at heart.
  • A quiet house during the week. Enough said.

I hope to write more on how I got to this decision – it didn’t come easily. I’ve been doing a ton of reading, researching, interviewing, praying, journaling, and talking with each kid to make sure that this was ACTUALLY going to be a good idea. I’m confident now in our decision and the kids are really excited, too.

But if you find me half naked on Poplar talking to myself…..now you’ll know why.

4 thoughts on “Why We’ve Decided to Homeschool Next Year…

  1. Love this. Love you all. And love the idea of being able to just go! Here middle school is 7-8, so Z will be an elementary school student for an additional year. It does not please him. Prayers because, well, you know prayers work. 🙂

  2. Great (and hilarious) post. I’m so thankful for my chikdren’s school in Dallas that goes against the cultural trends. (My second grader gets out at noon three days a week….). Thanks for your honesty.

  3. Oh my goodness I think you wrote this directly from my thoughts. We too are taking on this adventure next August. I am excited to have some time with my kids and dive deeper into who they are, what they struggle with, how to help them in their journey and ultimately train them to be confident in who God designed them to be.
    Thanks so much for your post
    Love it

Leave a Reply

