Why We Are Unschooling…For the Most Part Anyways

Screen Shot 2015-05-19 at 10.16.58 PM

Over the past year, I’ve spent quite a lot of time reading and researching education methods for elementary aged children. I’ve read about learning styles, pedagogical schools of thought, curriculum options, how other countries operate their schools, and what seems to be working for our kids here in the U.S.

And after all of that reading and researching and observing in my own children – here’s what I’ve come up with:

Kids are natural learners. We just have a gift of robbing them of that joy with our tests and our homework and our memorization and our schedule and our arbitrary benchmarks.

Screen Shot 2015-05-19 at 10.01.02 PM

So we are unschooling next year. Detoxing if you will. (If you’re unfamiliar with this term, GO LEARN ABOUT IT! BAM – you’ve just been unschooled.)

And while I’ve equipped myself with resources to help them learn, I’ve decided I can’t do it for them. It’s something they have to do for themselves.

If you’re curious at all about how schools as we know them could become obsolete…these 22 minutes WILL NOT disappoint:

My hope for the next year is to find that drive in each kid to KNOW their world. To ask questions. To read. To think. To push themselves because they are CURIOUS, not because they are being forced. And I just get to be the encouraging Granny. (watch the talk for that reference)

I’m sure we’ll fumble our way through some of this, and I’m sure there will be days where no one in this house wants to learn, but I believe it’s the better choice for us – and one that will serve them well for the rest of their lives as learners.

P.S. I found that TED talk from a recommendation from my TEN YEAR OLD. I might just go ahead and graduate that one out of the Carroll Kid Academy to clear space for other students. I think I’m done there.

Leave a Reply

